Outstanding achievers announced at Australasian Rail Industry Awards Gala Dinner

Man in suit holding trophy

Individuals and organisations from across the Australasian rail industry were awarded for their outstanding achievements and innovations in rail at last night’s Australasian Rail Industry Awards Gala Dinner.

Over 400 representatives from various sectors of the rail industry attended the sold out dinner to acknowledge the contributions of the twelve category winners.

The award categories and winners are as follows:

  • Career Achievement Award - Ben Lombardo, Speno Rail Maintenance
  • Customer Service Award - Metro Trains Melbourne
  • Employee Engagement Award - NSW TrainLink
  • Frank Franklyn Young Rail Specialist Award (RTAA) - James Donovan, Metro Trains Melbourne
  • Freight Rail Excellence Award - KiwiRail
  • Innovation and Technology Award - Sydney Trains
  • Permanent Way Institution Young Achiever Award (PWI) - Rebecca Coffey, Lycopodium
  • Safety Award - Australian Rail Track Corporation
  • Systems Engineering Award (IRSE) - Zdenka Wright, Metro Trains Melbourne
  • TrackSAFE Award - NSW TrainLink
  • Workforce Diversity Award - Brookfield Rail
  • Young Rail Professional Award (RTSA) - Gordon Baulch, Metro Trains Melbourne

Australasian Railway Association (ARA) Chief Executive Officer, Danny Broad congratulated all of the winners for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the rail industry.

“It was exceptional to see so many talented individuals and committed companies within the rail sector awarded for their excellence, passion and dedication to the rail industry,” said Danny Broad, CEO, ARA.

“Included amongst the twelve award recipients was Brookfield Rail, awarded for the Workforce Diversity Award for their significant impact on enhancing diversity in its workforce across the past decade, including their achievements in addressing workforce gender imbalance and their approach to gender pay parity to create a greater workplace for all rail workers.

“The final award for the evening, the Career Achievement Award recognised Ben Lombardo for his contribution as a leading pioneer and innovator in the Australian Rail Industry since the early 1980’s, when he took over the leadership of the Speno business in Australia, driving key value add technology development, innovation and the introduction of specialised maintenance technologies into the Australian rail maintenance industry,” concluded Danny Broad.

Proceeds from the Australasian Rail Industry Awards will go towards the TrackSAFE Foundation, a registered harm prevention charity that endeavours to reduce near collision, injuries and fatalities on the rail network resulting from suicide and reckless behaviour.

About The Australasian Railway Association (ARA)ARA logo

The Australasian Railway Association (ARA) is the peak body representing all passenger, freight, track operators and the wider rail supply industry in Australia, New Zealand and Indonesia.

Our fundamental purpose is to create an environment that will permit the Australasian rail industry to prosper. When issues arise that affect the whole industry, the ARA takes the lead facilitating an industry response.

The ARA is actively involved in the development of rail policy to ensure the industry's views are represented.

As well as shaping policy in the areas of passenger, freight, rail safety regulatory reform, the environment, technology and research, the ARA is also involved in programs aimed at improving the productivity, capacity and overall safety of the Australasian rail industry.

  • Join our community for FREE today!

  • Create and share your own profile

  • Join the discussions

  • Publish your own items

  • Subscription to our Weekly eNewsletter

your benefits?

Get connected with Mass Transit Professionals Worldwide

Create your account

Go To Registration

FREE membership benefits

  • * create and share your own profile
  • * join the discussions
  • * publish your own items on Mass Transit Networkmanage news, jobs, tenders, companies, events, showcases, educations, associations and literature.
  • * subscribe to our eNewsletter
Add news yourself


There are no comments yet for this item

Join the discussion

You can only add a comment when you are logged in. Click here to login